It’s Not You, It’s Me – Products Fails Fall 2016

I subscribe to several beauty subscription services so I get a lot of products every month. I also watch a lot of You Tube and read a lot of beauty blogs. These help me know what products I simply must try. So, I end up with a bunch of things that just don’t work out. It doesn’t mean that they are all bad products, just that they didn’t work for me. I try to post about these quarterly and my last post was It’s Not You, It’s Me – Product Fails Summer 2016. Since that post I have collected all these items that just were not what I expected from them.

Aloette Time Repair Serum – Time Repair Serum is a powerful age-defying skin care complex, fortified with alpha and beta hydroxy acids to smooth away dead skin cells and powerful antioxidants to protect skin from damaging free radicals. Formulated for all skin types, this nonirritating, lightweight formula absorbs quickly to diminish the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles for a renewed radiance.  I received this in my August Boxycharm and was so excited to try it. I am always on the lookout for an effective serum. This looked like a good one with BHA and anti-aging ingredients. It felt sticky after application and seemed to take forever to absorb. That wasn’t the worst issue, though. It caused me to breakout on my forehead. This will go to my mother to see if it works better for her.

NYC Smooch Proof 16HR Lip Stain in 503 Unstoppable Red – At last! Lip color you can count on 16H. The pretty flush of color that sticks around longer than most guys in this town…and looks WAY better. Goes on and stays on. Forget sticky, gloopy or heavy. These water-based shades feel just like your own luscious lips! This was one of the first lip stains I purchased and I had high hopes for it. It went on thin and dried quickly. But it dried patchy and highlighted the lines in my lips. It wore off unevenly and just never looked good. I don’t know if I got a bad tube or if other shades work better. I just know that I absolutely hated this!

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick by Kate in Shade 17 – This Rimmell Kate Moss Lipstick comes from the model’s fall 2012 line. Featuring the brand’s exclusive black diamond pigment complex, Rimmel London Lasting Finish By Kate Lipstick  was created to last up to eight hours. This pigment lipstick also reflects light, so it brings color and depth to each individual shade. This is not a product that I don’t like. I was going through my lipstick collection and realized that I had 2 tubes of this. It is a pretty pinky coral shade and I love this formula. It goes on creamy and stays that way for hours. It has a satin sheen that looks very pretty.It goes on creamy and stays that way for hours. It has a satin sheen that looks very pretty. I did an entire Rimmel Lipstick Review you may want to check out.

wp-1476549652141.jpg
Rimmel Lasting Finish in shade 17

Illamasqua Precision Ink Eye-Liner Liquid in Abyss – Create looks with attitude that no one can ignore with Precision Ink in Abyss. Precision Ink’s fine tip allows for defined application. Long-lasting and waterproof it’s perfect for use anywhere on the face and body to bring out your bold side. You can even use it as a nail art pen; simply seal with Illamasqua Top Coat. This came in a Boxycharm a few months ago. At that time I was still using my Stila Stay All Day liquid liner (which was one of my 5 Faves in August) and had to wait to try this one. It is a deep, opaque black that lasts all day. The formula is not the problem, The problem is the brush tip applicator. I learned to apply liquid liner with e.l.f. eyeliner that also has a brush tip applicator but then the Stila pen tip applicator spoiled me. I don’t like brush tips anymore and have trouble applying an even line with them. It is just more trouble than it is worth. This is an example of a product that it a good one, I just don’t like the applicator.

NYC Big Bold & Precise Liquid Eyeliner in Extra Black – From the elegant cocktail party in Midtown to the crazy rock concert in Central Park, adapt your look to the situation. 1 product – 2 makeup styles: super-thin modern line or thick, full-blown retro cat-eye flick, you choose! With New York Color Big Bold & Precise Felt Tip liner forget the struggling times behind your mirror: mistake-proof application and for up to 10 hours liner look!  I purchased this back when I first started using liquid eyeliner and was trying to figure out what worked for me. This is an example of a good product that doesn’t work for me. I have hooded eyes and I need an eyeliner that applies a thin line. I know it is surprising that something called “big and bold” doesn’t apply a thin line! When I bought this I didn’t realize that I needed a thin line.

OFRA Oil Control Pressed Powder – This Oil Control Pressed Powder was designed to keep your makeup in tact all day! Perfect for oil control. Suitable for sensitive skin. This came in a Boxycharm several months back. I had hoped that it would be a good summer powder since I get so shiny in the heat and humidity. This just left my face looking too white and pale. I don’t seem to be able to use white powders. I know that they aren’t supposed to color your face at all but they seem to make mine look terrible.

Revlon Colorstay Ultimate Suede Lipstick in 045 Supermodel – This velvety soft formula with moisturizing shea butter and aloe is food-proof and doesn’t quit. Available in 20 suede shades. Apply once and go.  This is a beautiful color. It is a brownish plum that is a perfect fall color. If only the formula was as amazing as the color. When you first apply it feels like a thin lip balm. It feels really good on your lips. As the day wears on it starts to peel off your lips. If you reapply it gets tacky and collects in the outer and inner parts of your lips. The center wears away pretty quickly. I will never buy anything from this particular line again.

This batch of fails was heavy on lips and eyes. The eyeliners were because I had just finished my Stila Stay All Day Liner and was looking for something cheaper that might work as well. I don’t think that is going to happen. As for the lip products, I am a lip product hoarder! There are so many formulas and so many colors and I want to try them all! So, I expect to end up with a loser now and then!

Have you tried any of my “fails?” Did they work for you?

If you enjoyed this post please “like”it and follow me to make sure you don’t miss any posts. Thanks so much for stopping by.

5 thoughts on “It’s Not You, It’s Me – Products Fails Fall 2016

  1. It’s too bad that we can’t love all the products we have. The Revlon lippie sounds particularly dreadful. It peels off? Yikes!

    It’s hit and miss with the NYC lipstains. I have a few of them (I also have Unstoppable Red somewhere – I just need to find it! Orange On The Go is a complete joke, but Champagne Stain is perfect. It was my favourite product in July. If you want to check out the amazingness that it NYC Champagne Stain, here’s the post: https://mrsstrawberryblonde.wordpress.com/2016/07/24/nyc-16h-lipstain-493-champagne-stain-2/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

