Beauty Beyond Borders August 2016

Beauty Beyond Borders is an Asian skincare subscription that ships monthly. It is $12 per month and contains 4-5 deluxe samples. I have been getting this bag for months and I haven’t tried many of the products at all. Part of the reason is that I recently started Tretinoin (Retin A) and have been careful about introducing new skin care products until my skin adjusts. If you are interested in learning more about tretinoin see these posts – Tretinoin / Retin-A Cheat Sheet and Tretinoin (Retin A). These are the items I got this month:

Leaders 7 Wonders Amazonian Acai Anti-Pollution Mask – This revolutionary sheet mask helps minimize the effects of pollution on your skin. Made out of advanced coconut gel technology, we love this mask for its immediate calming effects and how it stays put on your face. I am always delighted to get a mask in my subscription boxes/bags. I try to use a mask 3 times per week and I am looking forward to trying this one. Sheet masks are great for hydration.

Goodal Lotus Water Cleansing Tissue – One of the most important parts of a nighttime skincare routine is making sure to remove the day’s makeup.  We love these wipes for a non-irritating but effective way to take off our makeup and prep our skin for cleansing. Until this  year I thought that washing my face was enough. Then I learned about double cleansing and started using makeup remover wipes before washing. I discovered micellar water and switched to that for my makeup remover. Read about my nighttime cleansing routine here. I will eventually use these but am not excited about them. However, I have used other products from the Goodal line and have been very impressed with them.

Etude House Age Defense Essential Softener – Softeners are formulated to prime, rehydrate and enhance the effectiveness of a moisturizer. This Etude House softener provides smooth and firm skin from the inside, delivering moisture to the deepest levels of your skin (that your emulsions and creams may not get to). This is to be used after cleansing and before toning. This is a product that will be good to have on hand in the cold, dry winter months.

Tony Moly Floria Nutra-Energy Emulsion – In Korea, emulsion refers to a much lighter, non-sticky face moisturizer that works with skin’s natural oils to promote hydration. This emulsion has anti-wrinkle properties and gives your skin a firming effect with continuous usage. It is a well-loved product by many, especially those with  dehydrated or dry skin. I have combo/oily skin so this may not work for me. This may go to my mother. I have used Tony Moly sheet masks and really liked them.

Hera Waterin Gel Serum – Pinitol is a stable extract found in the plant carob. It helps maintain the moisture levels within the plant, to ensure it’s unaffected by environmental conditions such as cold, stress, or drought. This luxurious serum by Hera, an AmorePacific company, helps skin naturally readdress moisture levels and refreshes skin that has become used to dry weather and high temperatures. I love a good serum, too. I use a Vitamin C serum every morning and then a serum at night. My night serum varies and I will definitely try this when I finish the one I am currently using.

There are some great samples in my bag this month. I am most looking forward to using the sheet mask. I am least excited about the water cleansing tissue. Overall, I am satisfied with my bag this month.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0

Leave a comment